Fasthosts - any good?

Cams 16:22 04 Sep 03

I'm looking to switch hosts, and as usual have spent far too long researching to the point where I'm now reaching overload. My current host has had too much downtime over the last two years, and their prices have just gone up to silly prices (not yet published on their site).

My site is basic html pages with photos but I need a lot of storage as I'm a musician and upload a lot of mp3s. I'm looking for around 400MB which generally takes me into corporate territory with all the host packages I've looked at, and that means I'm paying for all sorts of fancy features that I don't need.

I've looked at the various hosts mentioned in previous threads to this BB, but haven't seen either Fasthost.co.uk or Supanames.co.uk mentioned. The former offers 500MB of storage for only £50 ex-VAT a year. Sounds too good to be true, and if the reviews at dooyoo.co.uk are anything to go by, it is too good to be true. I was just wondering whether anyone here had anything to say about them, either positive or negative.

Dooyoo.co.uk reviews: click here

Supanames.co.uk offers 400MB of storage for £90 ex-VAT and I had them recommended to me so maybe they'd be a better option.

I've also had InterScot recommended to me - unlimited storage for $9.99 per month:

click here

and also stumbled upon a few good reviews of LunarPages where I can get 500 MB for $7.95:

click here

Has anyone any experience of these?

And one more thing. Do any of you use a US-based host package (I mean for anyone NOT based in the US)? I'm wondering whether it would be a bad idea for such things as telephone support.

Thanks in advance,
Cams

Cams 16:55 04 Sep 03

I just heard back from Fasthosts that they wouldn't allow me to upload mp3s which is pretty much the raison d'être of my site. So that narrows things down a little.

It really is amazing how many companies there are out there offering web hosting. Is there really room for them all in the marketplace?

Cams