Extra USB ports

kpr 15:53 29 Nov 04

Have decided to go for Broadband and am looking to increase the number of my USB ports as a spare usb port seems a necessity for broadband.
I have a 2 year old pc - probably not USB 2.0?
I have looked at a 4 port hub but have a couple of queries.
Can the hub be 2.0 if my card is not? Does this matter??
Should the hub be powered internally or opt for one with a power supply?
Hope this makes sense - I'm a novice can't you tell!

ACOLYTE 16:00 29 Nov 04

The hub should be backward compatable with usb 1.1 so it should work,as for the power i would get a self powered external one.What Operating System do you have usb 2.0 requires 98se or later i think for drivers for internal ones.

kpr 16:14 29 Nov 04

operating system is XP home.
Had hoped not to need another plug as the extension cable seems to be getting bigger all the time but if the opinion is that this option is preferred to an internal power source then I'm happy with that - thanks for the quick reply

georgemac 16:14 29 Nov 04

click here and buy the USB Card 2.0 - 4 + 1 PCI Card for £10.95 and you can then but a non powered 4 port usb hub for £2.50 (all inc vat & delivery) and you will then effectively have 7 usb2 ports.

Does involve the install of the pci card

some people I know with via chipset & usb 1.1 have had problems with usb adsl modems - no problems with the above setup

ACOLYTE 16:27 29 Nov 04

RE:
My first post the option for an external self powered one was just my preference,this may not suit you and an internal one may be better,the external one is less fiddly nothing to install just plug in and use.

woodchip 16:45 29 Nov 04

But if it's not got it's own Power Supply you will have problems

georgemac 16:49 29 Nov 04

not critisising your suggestion at all - a powered usb hub will be fine - all ports will be as you said usb1.1