external hardrive

orihuela 09:50 28 Dec 06

My husband very kindly got me an external hardrive for Christmas as I enjoy playing around with my computer. I don't know why I need it really but I have to use it as he bought it for me!

This is really a complete beginners question. How do I safely go about downloading music from the internet - free - onto this hardrive. I really hate downloading stuff but I know I am not getting the most from my computer.

Kate B 10:39 28 Dec 06

Well, most "free" music is stolen and in breach of copyright and we can't give you advice on that here, I'm afraid - it's in breach of the forum rules.

To be honest, though, the best way to buy music in my humble opinion is to buy CDs and rip them. Music you buy online is a) encoded in a lossy format and b) hedged about with restrictions on how you can use it. Buy the CD, rip it yourself to your chosen format and your chosen bitrate, then you've got the non-lossy hard copy (the CD itself) as a back-up. I like iTunes for ripping music but others will have other suggestions.

Diemmess 10:42 28 Dec 06

There are 2 questions here...
Treat your new HD like any other HD on your computer, specially for relatively safe storage of all your documents, pictures and music.

When you want to save any of these make sure you save them to the drive letter of your external HD.
Make new folders on the HD first like Documents, Pictures, and Music.

Your new toy is a good place to store a backup of your system drive, if you use special software to create an "image" that is the place to store it.

Downloading music is another thing altogether with its legal implications.
You should have quite a response to that one!

mymate 19:53 28 Dec 06

Diemmess said this ..
Your new toy is a good place to store a backup of your system drive, if you use special software to create an "image" that is the place to store it.