External Firewire hard disk.

Bob Bob™ 16:26 30 Dec 08

Hello and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you.

Im an audio engineer to be and I have a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and its running off my iLink Firewire port that came with my Toshiba P300-150 laptop.

My laptop has two hard drives, both 250Gb.
I was told since they both run at 5400 rpm that I would run into a read write error from Cubase saying that there are too many tracks being recorded and the hard disk can’t keep up. I was advised on getting either an upgrade of my internal hard drive to a faster model or get an external drive.

Well, guess what happened?
First recording with it and I got cracks and pops, the track I was playing in Cubase to record along to stopped playing every once and a while until finally I armed an extra track and Cubase gave me this error that my hard drive wasn’t up to the job.

So, I have decided to go for the external drive option.

EDIT:
See end of post for a more concise question. I ranted a bit here lol

Here are my questions:

I’m going to go and get an express card for my laptop (my terminology could be wrong, I can never remember the name of the slot in the laptop.) and plug the external drive into that.

A user of another forum pointed out that Toshibas generally ship with Texas Instruments firewire ports and that seems to be true as there are no connection problems between the Saffire and my Toshiba laptop so I may as well leave that with that slot and get the external hard drive going through the express card slot.

SO, now here are my questions (I mean it this time :P)

Do I get a firewire 400 or 800 express card? I’m thinking of an 800 and I can get an 800 to 800 cable (if not provided with the drive) and an 800 to 400 since I believe they are compatible that way.