Extending BT's telephone cable for broadband

JOHNKM 10:34 04 May 05

I have just gone on to Tiscali’s 256K broadband (I thought that I was playing it safe, as my line is not suitable for anything faster than 512K). This works OK using a laptop/modem directly connected (via the filter) to the BT master socket, but I am having problems with connecting to the main computer, which is 20m away.
I am an Electronics Engineer and aware that normal telephone extension cable will not work, but have also been told that RJ11 cable cannot be used at lengths >10m, without compromising connection speed. As I have a large quantity of ‘CAT 5’ networking cable, I tried a 20m length of this, which works OK, giving the correct connection speed of 589.8 kps (the same as the laptop directly connected to the BT socket). However, any (dc type) disturbance on the telephone line, such as, when picking up the phone to make a call, or putting it down at the end of a call, will cause the modem to lose ADSL lock. It may then relock while the call is in progress, only to drop out again when the phone is put down.
The BT cable has already run well over 300m from the roadside box, so I would not have thought another 20m going to make any difference, provided the cable has similar characteristics (e.g. with matching impedance's, capacitance, etc). Therefore, as this oddity does not occur with the laptop set up, I assume there may still be a cable mismatch.
So, does anyone know the spec of BT’s external cable, or could this ADSL lock drop-out be due to another reason? I have found both Tiscali, and BT, unable (or unwilling) to answer the simple question on cable spec. They can only suggest moving my computer closer to the BT socket, or have BT install (at great expense) an extension cable from the master socket.

TonyM 14:31 04 May 05

You say "normal telephone extension cable will not work" .....why is that ?