Excel VBA - using a button in multiple sheets

Heefie 12:46 27 Nov 04

Me again ... as I said before, I'm VERY new to VBA so some of my questions may seem a bit basic or simple, but I'm doing my best !!!

I have a Spreadsheet with a number of Worksheets, let's call them AAA thru ZZZ. I have created a button in Worksheet AAA that links to & opens a program that uses files relevant to AAA. The Button is called AAAButton

Rather than duplicate this in BBB, CCC etc., etc., I moved the Code to ThisWorkbook(Code) from AAA(Code) & copied the button to all Worksheets.

I intended to write some code to pick up the WorkSheet name & use that in a generic link, but haven't got that far yet, as I wanted to make sure the Button would work like this.

If I step into the code & run it through, then the program opens the linked Program using the AAA details as originally intended and written. I assumed, therefore, that whichever sheet I was in, I could click on the Button (it is called AAAButton in all sheets) & it would open the program & the AAA files. I could then manipulate the code as I said above, to pick up BBB files from Worksheet BBB, CCC files from CCC etc., etc., etc.

However, clicking on ANY button now does absolutely nothing !!!

So, have I made a fundemental error in believing I could shortcut like this, or am I doing the most basic thing in the world wrongly (is that a real word ?!?!) ?!?!?!?

VoG II 12:52 27 Nov 04

Firstly I think that the code should go in an ordinary Module. In the VB Editor, Insert/Module and paste the code in there.

Right click one of the buttons, Assign Macro and choose your macro (probably the only one in the list). Right click the button again, select Copy. Then paste into each of the other sheets and delete the old buttons.

Heefie 13:31 27 Nov 04

... except I don't have an "Assign Macro" option when I right click !!!

I have Cut, Copy, Paste, Properties, View Code, CommandButtonObject, Grouping, Order & Format Control ...