Excel Query

gazmania 22:12 05 Mar 04

I'm hot on Excel functionality but I'm a novice on VB. What I want to do is lockout a cell, but only after allowing input to it once. Eg. Original value of cell is null. Allows input of data once. Cell becomes locked and suppresses any further input to that cell. I appreciate that a user could circumvent the lockout simply by closing the workbook, then reopening it again. However, any ideas would be appreciated.

VoG II 22:29 05 Mar 04

Is this just one cell?

He said, stalling for time. This is not an easy one!

AubreyS 22:33 05 Mar 04

VoG

Tell him to look in Google!! :-)

He's mate of mine

daba 22:36 05 Mar 04

surely it should be straightforward.

on cell value change, set the cell property to 'locked' and the sheet protection on ?

as i havn't actually tried it yet i may underestimated the problem.

I thought i'd leave it to you in the first place as i knew i couldn't get the answer in b4 u.

gazmania, if after the initial entry, subsequent entries would prompt for an 'are you sure' type dialog, would that not be preferable to a complete lockout, which as you rightly say can be overcome.

gazmania 22:40 05 Mar 04

Ah, actually, there may be up to 10 seoarate cells that would need the same properties. I will put a formula in an adjacent cell (in fact, the formula can go anywhere as long as it refers to the cell in question) which simply checks the value, eg. =if(upper(D5)="CAT","Correct, Well Done!","Wrong. Try Again")
The idea is cell D5 will have the lockout function and the user will only have one chance to input a value into that cell.
Arghhhhh

gazmania 22:48 05 Mar 04

Thanks daba. I think your idea could work unless some smarty pants simply explores the menu bar and discovers how to turn off workbook protection.
I think it may be possible to use daba's idea with the addition of switching off the menu item for cell protection. Some clever VB would do it. Beyond me however.

daba 22:52 05 Mar 04