Excel formatting

Craig.m 11:30 26 Feb 03

Using Excel 97, or even 2000, I can get a cell format to change according to its content using conditional formatting. The problem I am having is getting another cell to mimic that formatting. So if a cells criteria make it highlight in red, I would like another cell to also adopt that format but conditional formating only seems to look at the cell you are in rather than another cell.

Is there a way to either, use an 'IF' statement and use a formatting statment, that would then be able to look at the contents of another cell or is there something simple that I am missing to do this?

Craig

GroupFC 11:54 26 Feb 03

I am new to all this computing business, but have been using Excel for some time (although I have never used conditional formatting!).

Is it not possible to use edit> copy on the original cell and then edit> paste special> format on the destination cell or will this not achieve the desired result?

Craig.m 12:06 26 Feb 03

That would be a good solution if it were only a few entries but I am trying to do a large spreadsheet and that would take quite a time to do with the potential for error as well. All I want it to do is either pick up another cells formatting (conditional) or be able to refer to another cell to decide what its format should be.

Craig

emperor 12:54 26 Feb 03

If you select a group of cells, and the one with the conditional formatting is in the top left corner of the group, then you should be able to select the conditional format of that cell and apply it to all the other highlighted cells.
If need be you can then de-select the formatting from those cells where it is not needed.
If your cells are a long way apart then you may need to highlight a very large area.
That is a simple way, but there is probably aquicker way picking up the formatting with the press of a button.

emperor 12:57 26 Feb 03

The quick way - select the cell with the conditional format.