Exasperated over C#, C++ and Visual BASIC

TuxerTony 15:43 04 Dec 04

Having just read many of the threads on C++, Visual BASIC and the like, I'd be interested to hear why people who are not and never aspire to be professional programmers do not use something a lot more easy to use and results-oriented, as I do. I have tried Java, C++ and C#, and find them all totally overblown, and an exasperating pain in the backside to do precisely what I want with.

I use the excellent, perfectly documented 'BBC BASIC for Windows' by RT Russell. Windows API calls are all documented, as is: Direct3D interfacing, using MIDI, embedding Intel Assembler.

I'm an Oxford graduate mathematician, and do some pretty complicated things in s/w ( see click here ), and I don't like the turgidity of the language getting in the way of what I'm trying to achieve.

Any comments?

spargo 17:54 04 Dec 04

Having grown up so to speak with BBC Basic I do agree it is the best implementation of the language and so easy to use. I have still got a Strong Arm RISC PC and do use it sometimes.
Not having tried the Windows version of BBC Basic I cannot comment on that but if the implementation is as good as the original was then I am very tempted to try it.

TuxerTony 19:04 04 Dec 04

... I also used the original throughout the '80's, and the modern version does all that the old one does, plus all the Windows interface mullarky. With Assembler routines chucked in, it also enables you to use the full power of a modern 2GHz PC.
As a mathematician, I'm able to do some much more SERIOUS number-crunching very quickly indeed compared with what I would attempt with those old machines. Solving the surface wave equations in 2 dimensions to work out what moving water-waves look like takes a lot of serious grunt; working out a Fourier-Bessel integral numerically thousands upon thousands of times, for EACH time-point, in fact.

Alan2 19:21 04 Dec 04