Ethernet driver will not install properly

ableseas 18:21 19 Dec 05

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to this forum so hope someone can help with this problem please.I'm trying to get the ethernet controller on my gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro nforce 3 250 motherboard to see the latest driver I've installed for it.This is because I need to use the ethernet connection.Ever since installing the original motherboard drivers there's been a problem with the ehternet controller according to device manager in win xp pro that I'm using.Device manager says that NO driver is installed when I know Ive installed the driver.Is there a solution please?How can I force device manager to that the driver is in fact installed?
Thanks in advance to any replies :(

Skyver 18:23 19 Dec 05

Are you using drivers that came with the board or the Nvidia chipset drivers? click here

ableseas 18:35 19 Dec 05

Hi Skyver,thanks for your reply,
The drivers that came with the board were initially used,the ethernet controller driver seemingly not being seen by device manager.So I went to gigabyte's own web site to download the latest nVidia based motherboard chipset drivers and installed them ,but the ethernet driver,again, appears not be seen by device manager!!

Skyver 18:37 19 Dec 05

Is the LAN controller enabled in the BIOS? I doubt a modern board like that would use jumpers on the board to enable or disable hardware but it's worth checking.

ableseas 18:50 19 Dec 05

Bios has been checked out and according to the bios the ethernet controller IS enabled and going by the motherboard manual the motherboard does not appear to have any jumpers.

Skyver 18:54 19 Dec 05

Boot in safe mode and open Device Manager, see if there are multiple entries under Network Adaptors and delete any you find. Make sure you tick "show hidden devices" and issue this command at a command prompt too `Set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1`

woodchip 18:58 19 Dec 05