ethernet connection problem

DJ.01 12:03 14 Feb 08

Im not very good with computers but getting there bit by bit :) Im trying to set up my girlfriends computer to a wireless router, which is DSL. From my understanding I plug in the two ethernets cables via modem and router and type in the isp address in the search bar and follow the wizard till its installed.. However when my girlfriends brother first set her pc up the origional ethernet cable was faulty and he set it up with a usb instead somehow, but if I change the usb for the ethernet cable it doesnt detect the connection, what am I doing wrong?

mgmcc 13:56 14 Feb 08

If I understand correctly, you are trying to swap the connection to a Cable Modem from USB to Ethernet?

That being the case, power everything off, including the Cable Modem which must be left without power for three or four minutes - this is IMPORTANT so that it loses the association between the existing connection (recognised by its MAC address) and the IP address that it has allocated to it.

Connect a network cable between the router's WAN port and the Cable Modem's Ethernet port. Connect a second network cable between the PC's network port and one of the Router's LAN ports. Power on the Cable Modem and, when fully booted with all lights displayed, power on the Router. When the router is fully up and running, boot the PC. The Cable Modem will recognise a new connection and allocate a different IP address to it.

If you now type the Router's IP address into your web browser you should be able to open its configuration pages to set it up for wireless networking. You do not need to be connected to the internet to access the router's configuration pages from your web browser.