Error code 259

ria 21:08 30 Apr 07

A few weeks ago I got my Computer back from a repair store where I had to have a new processor, motherboard and graphics card installed. As I am looking to buy a new computer in the autumn anyway I went for the cheaper option by going from a Pentium 4 to an AMD. I have had lots of problems with my computer and finally reformatted my hard drive and reinstalled Win XP Home Edition. Everything installed ok apart from my Monitor and it seems my Video Card. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 170T LCD Monitor which is listed as “Default Monitor” under the Display Properties. When I try to install the drivers from the installation disk I get the error message: Samsung Monitor Setup: Error occur, while installing monitor adaptor. (Error Code 259)
After some investigation on the Samsung website I come across “A 259 error means that your video card is not installed properly and you need to reinstall or update the video card driver. Please visit the website of the manufacturer of your video card and download, and then install the updated driver. After you have installed the driver, the monitor driver will install properly”
How can I find out what video card I have got and who the manufacturer is? I have installed Everest Home Edition but still don’t know where to look.

skidzy 21:12 30 Apr 07

I have this monitor on one of my pc,s and no software is needed.XP will supply the drivers for the monitor as its plug and play.

beeuuem 21:20 30 Apr 07

Try downloading SIW from click here install it and and look in Video. It should tell you your card details.

woodchip 21:24 30 Apr 07

Also if a new MOBO as been installed you should have the CD with the Drivers on it for the MOBO these should be the first things to load after reinstalling the OS

ria 22:53 30 Apr 07

I never had a problem before when I reinstalled Win XP. The monitor was always recognized and installed correctly.