Epson non original cartridges

crazy printer 23:13 10 Jan 06

I have an Epson CX3600. I have tried to use a non original ink cartridge. I get the message " Use Epson Original Cartridge ". I am a student.

Can anyone help please?

Damn Machine 23:26 10 Jan 06

I have an Epson CX3600. I use Print-Rite non Epson catridges. Under £3 per cartridge and I have no problems.

I get mine from click here.

NB. If you try these make sure you remove the tape from the top, otherwise the ink doesn't come out and you make yourself look like an idiot taking it for repair.

Kev.Ifty 23:47 10 Jan 06

Isn't the message warning you of Non Epson cartridges and asking if you "wish to continue"?

Click 'Yes' See what happens.

;-) Kev

Totally-braindead 23:49 10 Jan 06

I think you will find that Kev.Ifty is correct. That is the message I get with my 2 Epsons as well, just click yes to use the non Epson cartridge.

crazy printer 09:34 11 Jan 06

Many thanks for your reply. The message is clear. It says " Use original Epson Cartridge ". There is no option to continue.
I think Epson have added a security lock to their printer memory chips. I may be wrong though.

I used Datawrite - father bought me 75 of these. I must add that, my father has the Epson R300 and with under £1 per cartridge and perfect results every time, he thought that, I would be happy to have a large stock.

Could there be a "fix" for the Epson software?

jack 10:45 11 Jan 06

This looks like another Epson mod to keep it all in the family.
Try downloading the Epson utility from click here
When loaded it places an icon on the lower tool bar
right click and a pop up menu with a selection of devices theron comes up.
You could try reset counters for starters.
Then the install cart for second
see what happens

Also Email to the Cart supplier they may have suggestions to oofer.

BigAl127 11:18 11 Jan 06

I've had the Epson CX3600 for well over 6 months now, and it quite happily accepts NON Epson Cartridges.