Empty windows displayed on website pages

Tigga 22:08 20 Jan 03
  Tigga 22:08 20 Jan 03

Just bought my first pc with a 56k modem and I am a complete novice. I am experiencing problems on the Internet, whilst using Microsoft Internet Explorer. I am set up on the Telewest blueyonder cable service. When I click onto options on some web pages, an empty window is displayed. No error message is shown. This is frustrating as I am unable to fully access information on websites and have no idea how to rectify it.

I have noticed that the local area connection icon in the bottom right hand of my screen indicates local area connection is unplugged. What does this mean and is this anything to do with my problem?

Hope someone can help.

jazzypop 22:19 20 Jan 03

Assuming that you are using Telewest's dialup service, and not their broadband cable service, you can safely ignore the 'local area connection' icon. It relates to a network card that is not plugged into another PC, or another network device.

If you mean that when you click a link on a web page, a new page opens without anything being displayed, this may well be because you do not have Java installed, or enabled. (Java is one of the background technologies that is used to display some, but not all, web pages).

If you open Internet Explorer and click on Tools > Internet Options, then click the Advanced tab, you will see a list of boxes with descriptive names.

Scroll down the list and check whether, under the Microsoft VM sub-heading, there is a tick next to 'JIT compiler for virtual machine enabled'. If not, put a tick in the box by left-clicking once. Then click the 'Apply' button, followed by OK. When your PC has restarted, go back to the pages that were causing problems, and check if all is now OK.

If you do not have the entries referred to above, or I have misunderstood your problem, feel free to post again, by using the box at the bottom of this thread.

VoG™ 22:19 20 Jan 03

This should help you: