email question please

ole1999 17:48 25 Sep 04

Is it possible to retrieve an email once it has been sent, i seem to recall a friend sending me one some time ago and realised it was the wrong one so he got it back before i had chance to open it...just maybe i was wrong, would be interested to know and if so how?
Thanks

Graham ® 17:53 25 Sep 04

Sorry, it's not possible to prevent an email being delivered once it's sent.

palinka 17:53 25 Sep 04

I'm not an expert, but I know of no way of retrieving an email along the lines you suggest.

I receive emails from a local Council and very occasionally the sender wants to do the equivalent of your suggestion; what they do is send a separate email that reads "X wishes to withdraw email such & such subject, sent...".

Which rather seems to confirm my belief that it isn't possible to retrieve emails sent in error.

hugh-265156 17:54 25 Sep 04

not that i know off. once you click send its gone and there is nothing you can do about it. unless... if you use outlook express try clicking 'tools/options/send' and untick 'send messages immediatly' what will happen now is insted of sending straight away when you click send, it puts the email into your outbox and its not sent untill you click 'send recieve all' on the toolbar. this will give you a chance to correct the messege or delete it if you click send by mistake.

ole1999 18:21 25 Sep 04

Thanks for the replies guys, i really could of sworn my friend did do it once before ( i cant ask him dont see him much now ), but i certainly wont argue with the experts lol
cheers

beeuuem 18:56 25 Sep 04

With Outlook, you can recall messages—sometimes. This feature has some major limitations: It requires Exchange server, the addressee has to be logged on and using Outlook, and the message has to be unread and sitting in the recipient's in-box. But the fact that it works at all makes it worth knowing about.