Email address book compromised?

anskyber 10:15 20 Dec 07

I received an email from my daughter today which was clearly spam. She has also received a range of "message no sent" or similar which relate to old email addresses that are no longer used by her contacts.

This has all the look of a compromised email address book which has been harvested or perhaps even her machine "controlled" from elsewhere. I have no experience of this problem so any thoughts would be most welcome.

She has a machine using XP, Comodo firewall and AVG free anti virus. She has used a POP email before but is currently using Hotmail. My initial thoughts are to ask her to run Superantispyware.

Taff™ 11:56 20 Dec 07

Definately not good. Download and install Superantispyware and possible Spybot S&D as well. Make sure AVG is up to date with definitions. Uninstall Comodo firewall, reboot and re-install - I would have thought the firewall would have prevented any unusual behaviour but she may have inadvertantly allowed something out. Re-installing it should reset everything and she will need to allow things manually for a while. Disconnect from the internet and run AVG first, followed by each of the other solutions.

It might also be an idea to run them in safe mode as well before reconnecting to the internet. If there are problems found and they appear in System Volume Information" there may be something lurking in a System Restore Point which means that every reboot of the computer it reinstalls itself. If this is suspected turn off system restore and run everything again. Reboot and turn on system restore and reboot again. Good Luck!

anskyber 12:03 20 Dec 07

Thanks, that's a good start. I think your point about system restore is well made so perhaps she should delete all restore points as well?

Should she delete the points reboot then turn on again?

FreeCell 12:03 20 Dec 07

Good advice from Taff. I would add A Squared Hijack free - click here