Easy update event listings site method?

Patr100 17:09 22 Dec 07

Ok I am working on an early idea for an events listings site. I could manually add them (I use a variety of mostly WYSIWYG progs - I am not a coder) but wonder if there is a simple appropriate ready made user friendly solution.

Basically I want to able to easily and quickly add entries as and well - at the moment I require to show sonething like this:

Current events:
Event title - Date from/to - with hyperlink to more info at an external site. Also to add whenever event is Free.

Events starting Jan 08

Event starting Feb 08

and so on..
--

I would like to be able to customise the look of the page/entries a little but the overall look I want to keeep fairly clean.

Additonal Visitor options eg sorting to show all Free events etc might be useful . I also may want to add a small image for some if not all entries.

Any suggestions. folks ?- There may be a CMS that can do it t but I have no practical experience of any of them as yet.

Forum Editor 00:10 23 Dec 07

click here

It's written using PHP, and uses MySQL databases, which you'll need if you're going to offer your visitors list-sorting facilities.

Patr100 00:43 23 Dec 07

Thanks I had a glance sometime before , pity their "live" demo has been unavailble for months now.

Frankly, to me, Open source though often free to use , has rarely been user friendly - I've some limited experience but for someone who has never installed or used my SQL etc the layout and install options look quite intimidating.

I do have a small reseller account now with unlimited mysql to experiment with, if I attempt to install I need some time to get my head around this.

Patr100 01:12 23 Dec 07