e-commerce website - use of database? benefit?

Chris-190573 12:06 08 Mar 05

Hi,

I have designed a static e-commerce website in dreamweaver for an online version of my shop using paypal as the shopping cart.

We have stock items ready to load of several hundred items

Do we need to use a database with this website? and if so how would this work alongside paypal?

Also if i was to use a database what benefits would this bring to the site?

My webhost is webmania and i have been informed they do not work with access - if i do need a database can anyone recommend a good one.

Basically do i need a database for my website and is it worth the extra effort to set up?

Thanks for looking and fingers crossed you can help!

Matt45 17:29 08 Mar 05

I am a web designer and frequently design ecommerce sites using databases. There are a number of advantages but the main one is that "the client" - the person who I design the system for - can then add, edit and delete products themselves very easily through an online administration interface. It also means that you can make changes to how the products are displayed very easily as all you have to do is change one page rather than 100's of pages each with product info on. For customers, it usually means that an advanced search facility can be used which can search by keyword, price, categry, etc...

Matt45 17:32 08 Mar 05

As for the database, if you were to create one, it would have to be done using the PHP programming language & MySQL databasing system as that is what your current host supports.

Chris-190573 21:10 08 Mar 05

Many thanks.

Can you recommend any software to create the database in?

Matt45 23:12 08 Mar 05