E Commerce advice/help guidance

geoff47 00:13 12 May 05

My wife and I have a small shop dealing in Afro Hair and cosmetics,to try and boost our income I have been building a site to both promote the shop and to sell by mailorder the products we stock.
To this end I have contacted our supplier to ask if they could provide graphics for the site in return for exclusively using their products,they have replied in the affirmative,and I am to contact them soonest to proceed.
I am looking for advice from the Professionals in the forum the best way to go.
This a new area for me,I am new to any sort of commerce,let alone E commerce.I have spent the best part of my working life at the workbench,but see this as a challenge,and necessary for the business's survival.
Are there any pitfalls I should avoid? Any things I must do? Any general overall guidance that might help would be most appreciated.
I would also welcome any cautionary advice as to the success such a venture might yield,the relative set up costs to expected income.
In fact any advice and help would be welcome.
I thank you all in advance.
Here is the present site,which would need to be expanded(this is still in its infant stage)
click here
Thanks again for any critical advice and encouragement.
Geoff47

Forum Editor 00:51 12 May 05

that we've seen your site before - it's looking good.

There are certainly plenty of pitfalls for the unwary where e-commerce is concerned, but get it right and the rewards can be substantial. This isn't the place for a full discourse on the subject (I could write thousands of words), but here are a few of the more important factors to consider before you start:-

1. Research the competition. There are few businesses which can claim to be unique, and it's well worth taking a look at others who are already doing the same thing. If a search doesn't produce any returns you know that you're likely to do very well, provided you are selling something that people want.