DVD/CD Wont start automatically

charles60 19:35 25 Nov 10

Hi have just installed Windows 7 everything is fine expect for one small thing. When I put DVD/CD into the drive instead of it starting automaticy as it did before i have to go to computer then to the dvd/cd drive then double click it for the dvd etc will play is there a way i can resolve this so i can get it to play as soon as i put my disk in as it did before going over to windows 7 thanks also it seems to do it on vista on my desk top where as before you had a litle list come up asking what do you want to use for dvd or cd i would like to get it back

GaT7 19:40 25 Nov 10

There's a MS hotfix for this midway down this page click here, under 'How to disable or enable all Autorun features in Windows 7 and other operating systems'. G

charles60 20:17 25 Nov 10

Thanks Crossbow have not tried it on Windows 7 yet just tried the "Fix IT"on vista no change i am afraid

charles60 20:21 25 Nov 10

As i am new to this computer lark might have done something wrong but as it meant to do it automatically but cant see where

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 21:20 25 Nov 10

Autoplay Repair Wizard click here

Autoplay disable/enable
1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open box, and then press ENTER.
2. Locate and click the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\CDRom
3. To disable automatically running CD-ROMs, change the Autorun value to 0 (zero). To enable automatically running CD-ROMs, change the Autorun value to 1.
4. Restart your computer.

charles60 22:14 25 Nov 10

done what you said but under services i get 2 files one folder saying TSDDD other saying VGASAVE nothing about DVD or CD

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:58 25 Nov 10
  charles60 23:33 25 Nov 10