DVD RW upgrade nightmare

Geraint J 19:31 24 Nov 03

I have bought a BTC DVD+/- R/RW CD-R/RW Writer to replace my CD writer. I have a DVD rom as a master drive and the CD writer was the slave. I removed the CD writer and made sure the settings on the new drive were the same, when I boot up and the PC conducts its memory tests it says SECONDARY IDE CHANNEL No 80 CONDUCTOR CABLE INSTALLED which I havent seen before.The drive will open and close but will not read or write to any media, also the pc will not shut down it just keeps re-starting when I try to shut it off. And when the drive is trying to read it causes whatever program im using (My Computer, Nero etc) to freeze. I had no problems before. Im using XP Pro, KT400 GA-7VA m/board, AMD XP2600, 1024gb ram, 120gb h/d. HELP PLEASE before im forced to use the sledge hammer for a bit of fine tweaking

jimv7 19:37 24 Nov 03

Change the drive to master, uninstall your old version of nero and install the version that came with the drive.

Geraint J 17:19 25 Nov 03

Thanks, I will try it.

Geraint J 20:12 26 Nov 03

No luck, Windows refused to start. An error message appeared and the pc just kept re-starting. Im starting to think the drive might be faulty as i've replaced the CD-RW and everything is fine. Would my DVD ROM be upseting the DVD RW or wouldnt it make any diference ?

She 22:13 26 Nov 03

I have a Dell Dimension 8250 with DVD drive and I also want to upgrade it to a DVD writer. I am confused by the terms DVD-(minus) and DVD+ (plus)
which so many of the joint R and RW drives have, as in Geraint's first message. Can anyone explain the difference please?

Mr_Nice_Guy 22:23 26 Nov 03