dvd-rw on Sony dru500a

Balf 19:38 03 Sep 03

Please help - i have recently bought the sony dru500a combo drive and i have tried to backup some of my owned dvd films using DVDXCOPY Express and various other programs - it creates the image file, then starts to burn the disc (The dvdrw Drive and Hard drive lights both blink during this process) it does this for about 2 minutes then ejects the cd and says the burn is complete - When i insert the disc back into either my dvd rom drive or my dvd writer, it permanently tries to access the dvd-rw and just locks up. I cannot even re use these discs, it just seems like they are ruined by the burn process - CDR and CDRW works fine by the way - PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE HELP!

Balf 20:05 03 Sep 03

I am very new to nero 6 - how do i burn stuff to a dvd then?

dazzling 20:09 03 Sep 03

i have same drive and use instant copy 7 never had a problem at all.also try click here some very good articles there. good luck darren.

Balf 20:12 03 Sep 03

It just tells me the disc's are copy protected and wont let me burn them??

dazzling 20:17 03 Sep 03

goto the site i gave you download dvd dycrypter it takes of the protection.there is an article on the site on how to use it.then import the files it produces into instant copy. theres a guide for that too.darren

Balf 20:31 03 Sep 03

They are in the process of upgrading their server - i guess i will just have to wait for the site to be up again and then try it :-(

I had no luck with Nero by the way

kane_2002k 20:56 03 Sep 03

a different media, as quality varies, and also use the lowest burn speed available, as that can help. The sony drive is really a dvd+r/w burner with dvd-r/w ability. But it will always perform best when using dvd+r/w media.

Also if possible go to the sony site and see if they recommend any particular media.

Balf 21:20 03 Sep 03