//some 3rd party need geo

DVD ROM not working properly

Gilliann 21:49 10 Oct 03

Help PLEASE! I have a Toshiba DVD-ROM SD-R1002 (DVD and CDRW combi drive). It will play DVDs but I cannot get it to run data CDs or music. I have tried the reload/backup CD but keep getting the message 'Insert a disc into drive D'. I also have a System & Driver CD, and the CD Driver is able to read that I can open it and see all the files on it - sorry to say I am a complete novice and don't know what to do with it!!!!
I have bought a USB Flash Drive and have at least been able to save all the pictures I have of my baby granddaughter.
ps. I am running Windows ME. Can anybody out there help me.

dazzling (work) 22:17 10 Oct 03

how are you trying to run audio cd's and data cd's are you wanting to read photos of a cd or copy them to a cd.you should have software for that.dont mess about with the reload cd.tell us as concisley as you can how you would use the data cd and what you do after putting it in the drive and any error messages you get. darren

Gilliann 22:35 10 Oct 03

I want to copy my pictures to a cd and have got the software that came with the computer that is supposed to do this, its Adaptec software and has worked fine up until now. I would also like to install a new bit of software but every time I put the cd into the drawer and double click the compact disk icon it tells me to put a disk in the drive. Don't know if its connected with my problem but this seemed to start after I did a windows update, it downloaded Activex. Thanks for replying so quickly.

rabbitwabbit 22:44 10 Oct 03

Gillian,

I had a similar problem with a DVD ROM where it suddenly stopped being able to recognise it had a drive there at all! To resolve my problem, I uninstalled and reinstalled the software (in your case the Adaptec software) A registry entry may have become corrupt as a result of the ActivX download. P.S. Use the Windows tool to uninstall and reinstall your software.