Dvd Recording Problem/Getting 'used to' DVD Format

pete777 17:51 26 Nov 05

Hello, new to the Forum but here goes.
I've got an NEC DVD+-Rw Drive which as many of you will probably know, accepts all the multitude of formats (or maybe doesn't..). I am pretty new when it comes to burning DVD's let alone Cd's, etc., and have been having a slight problem with 'getting used to' how it all works.
My question is: Why do I 'have to' use Burning Software (I have Nero Express 6)- in order to Copy or Save my stuff (ie photos, documents, etc)- onto a blank dvd disc?? I have tried just moving stuff by right click/send to/Cd Drive, but I always get the message 'Windows encountered a problem...' etc. Why is this?
Also, after inserting a blank dvd into the drve and right clicking, under properties, it reads "0 bytes free" and, "0 bytes used" ! Err.. confused or what?!! Please help, and yes I am a beginner (as already stated)! Cheers

canard 21:23 26 Nov 05

It needs an interface to do what you want, nero provides this.

rdave13 21:29 26 Nov 05

Since I downloaded SP2 windows burner never worked. I now use ashampoo cd/dvd burner suite,cheap and also supports blu-ray burning for furure ref.

rdave13 21:33 26 Nov 05

Try uninstalling nero express 6 and run Ccleaner then reinstalling nero.

pete777 12:01 27 Nov 05

Okay, err thanks for your help, but err I'm still confused- for instance, what is the Windows burner? Have never seen it, let alone used it. Second,what is blu-ray burning??
Don't forget I'm just a beginner in all this cd/dvd burning stuff...
Also, what is Ccleaner?? and, I forget to mention that when I use Nero, I CAN then copy/save (Burn)- the stuff I wanted onto the blank dvd.
And err no one answered the query about why Properties shows the blank dvd as having .."0 bytes Free.." and, .."0 bytes used" !
Cheers

Totally-braindead 14:50 27 Nov 05