DVD player doesnt recognize disc

Brundy 21:04 09 Oct 03

(Dell Inspiron 8100 mobile cpu 1200mhz Xp pro)
Just had a DVD burnt by 'Jessops', & the Samsung CDRW/DVD doesnt recognise that theres a disc inserted.(nor does explorer) Drive plays 'normal' CD's/DVD's ok. have spent 3 hours looking for solutions & am now really confused!! Do I need to Upgrade firmware? upgrade the windvd or the player? Help!! Must be something simple as the DVD plays on my sisters computer & on her DVD player. Also have all the latest upgrades from microsoft.
p.s As you can see, I'm a novice user!!!

gold 47 22:35 09 Oct 03

Did your player come with it's own software??
i use power DVD Win DVD i have found can cause problems in some cases,you will get better advice later from other people on the forum.

Brundy 22:48 09 Oct 03

gold 47
Thanks...yes came with windvd 3, also have Inter Actual Player 2 & media player 9. I'm sure if I knew what format this DVD was written in I could then start to sort it out. Jessops havent helped.
Heeeeelp!!!

dazzling (work) 22:56 09 Oct 03

think you might find win dvd 3 isnt compatible with xp pro i think they recommend version 4.media player 9 reads dvd though go into tools> options>file types and make sure dvd is ticked and try using that.darren

Brundy 23:18 09 Oct 03

Dazzling
Thanks...had already tried Media Player & DVD is enabled.... The Drive just does'nt seem to recognise this particular DVD, other DVD's are recognised & play even with windvd 3. When I open either windvd/wmp/inter actual/ they all say 'no disk inserted'. All I want to do is watch my holiday movie!!!

Brundy 12:36 10 Oct 03