DVD Dementia (or will have soon!)

Chegs ® 19:05 11 Apr 05

I have been using a Pioneer A106 DVD-RW with no problems for nearly 12 months.Then my daughter got hold of "Stuart Little 2" DVD...

This disc,installs its own playback software(although her PC has PowerDVD)which then promptly crashes the PC.I tried "Opening" the DVD with PowerDVD,but still the PC crashes,initially I suspected the Fraggles PC's hardware(DVD-ROM is a fairly recent replacement for another DVD-ROM that suddenly stopped reading DVD's)I then tried the DVD in my PC,it causes my XP to "wobble" and the CD-RW/DVD-RW vanish from explorer,until I reboot the PC.I found the DVD worked in the TV's DVD player,so transferred it to tape,then to my PC,rendered,editted,etc and then tried several DVD-R's(which failed with various errors)regardless of which app I used to burn them)
I then tried burning to DVD-RW(I had ten,but the 5 -RW's failed within a few weeks of purchase)So,off we went testing the DVD+RW's,found one that was still usable(I could format/erase,etc)and I burnt the DVD.This disc works on my PC,on the Fraggles PC,but NOT the TV's DVD player.

I had a good read round all kinds of websites,and tried these...

1)Updated Nero to latest version.

2)Re-enabled the swapfile(as I had 1.5Gb RAM,decided it wasn't really necessary)

3)Flashed firmware on Pioneer,to latest version(1.08)but the drive wouldn't recognise ANY DVD,only CDR's,so reflashed to 1.07.

4)Tried alternative burning software(Nero/Alchohol120%/TMPGenc/CloneDVD,etc)

I have discovered through all this,that Nero's InCD version 4300 causes me no end of coaster production,but InCD 4056 with latest Nero(63125)and firmware 1.07 is the most reliable combo.I have only one DVD+RW left.That I can still render/edit DVD's.That I need to buy "Imation" brand blanks.