DV to DVD

bobby v 10:13 13 Jan 03
  bobby v 10:13 13 Jan 03

I want to transfer DV from my panasonic NVEX3 to DVD using iLink / firewire.I am going to get a new PC for this and thinking along the lines of 2GHz or faster 2x60GbHD one just for video 17 inch TFT. Now which type of DVD drive do I go for DVD+ or DVD- I want it to be compatible with most types of set top DVD players. Software Win XP home or pro whats the advantages of pro, editing software pinnacle studio 8 or videowave 5 would this be a good starting point for me or is there something better.I have a stills picture output on the camcorder how do I use this, I am a bit of a novice with PCs. Reading some of the mags on PCs and digital video there seems to be nothing but pitfalls and problems I am a bit put off to say the least.My budget is £1500 tops.

scotty 12:41 13 Jan 03

Video editing can be fraught with difficulties but what you are trying to do should be possible. Any difficulties you encounter can be sorted with a little help from forums such as this one.

I think it will be a few months before the winner of the DVD format war is clear. In the mean time, look at the Sony DVD writer that supports both formats. NEC are due to release a dual format drive soon - model ND1300. One option is to write your edited video back to tape and leave the decision about DVD writers until a later date.

I have recently started using Studio 8. I have found it fine for the simple editing I do (Capture from DV, detecting & arranging scenes, adding titles & transitions)

KCR 13:15 13 Jan 03