dv capture quality

georgeyoung 14:04 22 Apr 03

I have a Sony DV DCRPC9e camcorder. I purchased a pc with the hope that I could edit the tape, add titles, cuts and sound tracks e.t.c and transfer them back to DV tape or better still onto DVD so that I could play it back in any location.

This should be possible, unless anyone can contradict me.

I have successfully captured some footage on my pc, added titles some music and fancy edits...however the full screen playback is awful.

I tried to transfer back to dv tape and the quality is very poor also.

What am I doing wrong? I have a 9000 Radeon 64M graphics card, 512M ram, 120 M free disc space. I am using firewire, I have tried using ulead and PowerDirector software.

I am new to all this so it may just be a set up issue.

I have still not successfully managed to burn a dvd.
Please help

Jungle 15:24 22 Apr 03

You state " Full Screen playback ".

I presume from this you are talking about playing the edited video on your PC monitor, rather than your TV ?

Have you tried altering the resolution on your monitor ?

Also its quite possible your processor's not up to the job of showing the footage full screen on your PC..( If its sub 650 mhz then it may not be able to do so, if its a higher spec ie 1Ghz or higher processor then you should be fine. )

Have you tried puting the edited version onto a DV tape then playing it through your TV.?

I presume that you Camera is Firewire in / out compatible ?

Regards
Jungle

MichelleC 16:02 22 Apr 03

Your free space is 120 mb or gb? Plus what software?

cream. 16:21 22 Apr 03

I also have just come in to this digital camcorder phenomenon over the Easter break.

Although my system is a lowly amd 1gig with 256Mb of sdram and 30 gig of partitioned hard drive spare. The graphics card is an old GeForce 2 with 32Mb of ram. The camera is connected through a firewire adapter card that came with the 6\4 pin cable and Pinnacle Studio 8.4 SE, Not bad for £30 I thought.