Dumb question about modern computers

polymath 21:00 30 Nov 07

I could suddenly afford a new computer after 7 years with a Win98SE one (8gb hard disk and all). As I'm jumping straight to Vista, the Absolute Beginners forum seems appropriate!

I'm in the process of trying to access the manufacturer's tech help forum (registration problems awaiting resolution, so can't ask them anything yet). Meanwhile, any answer here would be gratefully received.

I couldn't decide between desktop or laptop, was lucky enough to be able to buy both and got a fairly powerful desktop, plus a laptop/notebook with a more modest spec.

I bought them 2 days ago, & have started up only the laptop so far, while on the phone to my ISP, ready to do their settings; I've been trying to do the internet connection first off, in case I need to register Vista online at an early stage, & for getting a printer driver etc. But I decided to end the ISP phone call, & ring again once stated up sufficiently (first-time Vista & first-time touchpad users might understand!)

Meanwhile I looked out a phone/modem cable and my question arose.
Both have built-in wireless capability, and have a network port, but no old-style phone-line connection port that I can see, which I guess is the norm now? (I'm in rural Ireland, and hardly ever see other computers) I gather from elsewhere that I need to buy a router, to plug into the house phone socket and beam thingies to the computer(s). Is this correct, and is this all I need to buy to connect to my existing ISP? (If I don't do the shopping I need tomorrow, I'll have to wait till Monday!)
Local shopping's very limited - is any wireless router OK, or should I take a little more trouble and find a reliable make such as Belkin?
I'm on dialup, in case it makes any difference (to cut a long story short, my only chance of broadband is via a German satellite)