Dual Core DUEL: AMD vs INTEL

skaria 12:44 25 Jul 05

Dear friends,

I would like your opinion on the AMD vs INTEL dual core battle. I have heard that the AMD 64 bit processors are generally better than the Intel. Is this true?

I am a first time Pc builder and I am having a dilemma on the following matter:

Should I purchase the:

Intel Pentium 4 830 Dual Core LGA775 Smithfield 3.0 GHZ for £230

OR

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - 2.4GHz - £245

OR

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ - £390

I understand that the AMD dual core is the best but is it worth paying the extra price for it?

OR should I purchase the AMD 64bit, and forget about dual core.

I hope you can help me.

Thanks in advance!!!

Fingees 14:34 25 Jul 05

It may well pay to check prices at

click here

Jdoki 17:16 25 Jul 05

AMD all the way for me...

Single core 3800 if you are gaming. Also gives you the upgrade path to dual core in the future when dual core prices drop and multi-threaded apps start to appear. (check that your 939 socket mobo can support dual core)

If you have the money and think you'll get the most out of two cores (bearing in mind multi-threaded apps are thin on the ground, and games are still some way off taking advantage of dual cores) then the AMD would stil be my fave.

skaria 22:55 25 Jul 05

Essentially, I have learnt thatit would be smart for me to purchase a AMD processor, as they are significantly better for my purpose. However, it would be a good idea to purchase a cheaper AMD 64 bit single core processor now, so that I can upgrade to dual core 64bit when it becomes available at a cheaper price. I think that is a very smart idea, however, if this is so, could you please suggest:

A suitable motherboard - preferably an ABIT, as I have heard the fans are fitted and so are some heatsinks...please correct me if i am wrong

I was thinking of purchasing:

Memory - GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC4400 Ultra-X CAS2.5