Dual boot Win XP and Ubuntu - setting the boot menu?

br1anstorm 22:50 02 Jan 14

I am aiming to install latest version of Ubuntu (v13?) alongside the original Win XP Home OS on the C drive of my ageing desktop computer - mainly to see how Ubuntu/Linux works as I have no experience of this OS.

I want to make sure I know EXACTLY what to do, and have looked at various step by step guides and how-to videos. But I would welcome advice on a specific point - with apologies to those who think the answer is too obvious to need explaining!

The main steps are clear: 1) download Ubuntu and burn .iso to a disk or USB stick 2) back up, defrag, and chkdisk your existing C drive 3) partition the C drive to create a separate space for Ubuntu - either by using third party software like EaseUS or GParted, or when prompted during Ubuntu installation 4) amend boot menu to boot from CDROM or USB stick (whatever the Ubuntu .iso is on) rather than the hard drive. 5) put Ubuntu .iso disk into CDROM drive (or USB into slot) and restart 6) follow steps for Ubuntu install

..... and if it all works, Ubuntu installs on to the "new" partition, then when you restart every time thereafter, a "dual boot" menu (is this the so-called GRUB menu from Ubuntu?) comes up showing the two OSs and giving the option to choose which to boot from. 7) remove .iso disk from CDROM drive (or unplug USB) and away you go.

All seems fine in theory. But being logical, one thing bothers me. At step (4), before loading and installing Ubuntu, I will have changed the boot order in the boot menu to tell the computer to boot first from the CD drive (or USB).