DUAL BOOT - Vista/LINUX

strokebow 14:41 10 Aug 08

Hi,

I already have Vista 64 installed on my comp and want to install Linux (ubuntu) on my free Hard disk drive.
I've never done a dual boot before and would like to ask advice on the processes involved.
eg) will my current OS and files be corrupted in anyway?
How is the process carried out specific to my situation having vista 64 already installed?

Thanks for your time

octal 14:46 10 Aug 08

I have installed a few distributions and the best advice is make sure you fully understand how to install and set up the partitions correctly otherwise it can go seriously wrong. There should be plenty of information on the Ubuntu forum on how to do that.

LastChip 14:48 10 Aug 08

I have to go out now for a few hours, but I'll come back later with some details.

woodchip 14:48 10 Aug 08

You need to download a Free Boot Manager click here=

ambra4 16:06 10 Aug 08

How to dual-boot Vista with Linux (Vista installed first) -- the step-by-step guide with screenshots

click here

strokebow 16:11 10 Aug 08

Ok. Thanks guys. What does the boot manager do?

Also, I have a seperate HDD I will install on so I dont need to partition the existing drive with Vista64 on.

Thanks in advance

woodchip 19:37 10 Aug 08

Boot Manager gives you a choice at startup, what do you want to run

LastChip 20:52 10 Aug 08

ambra4's link does not tell the whole story, as it uses a "Guided" install, rather than a manual installation.

It *is* critical that you decide how you want to dual boot, and therefore, which boot manager you want to use. (a boot manager, manages the operating systems on your computer).

You can in fact use boot.ini within Windows, but it's a fairly complex route for a novice Linux user and I wouldn't recommend it.

You could use a boot manager, such as the one supplied with the Partition Magic suit, or the one Acronis has available. There are any number of third party boot managers available.