Dual Boot systems create problems of their own

xania 13:40 11 Apr 05

I've been using 98SE for many years supported by Partition Magic. You know - you complete the installation then create a copy somewhere else on the HD using PM8. Then, when the existing system degrades too far, you simply delete it and copy back that saved original to get a quick clean system.

So far so good.

I've just installed XP as a dual boot arrangement, and, in the same manner, taken a copy using PM8. Now here comes the rub. It seems that you only get one bootable system, so if SE is bootable, XP is not.

I have now identified the following:

1. You cannot over-write your XP partition with a saved version (PM8 actually warns you about this and hides the partition, which you then have to unhide) - somehow, I can only assume that, immediately you delete the existing partition, the OS tells the bootable partition that XP is no longer there and, when you replace it, doesn't bother to mention that its come back.

2. You cannot over-write the 98SE partition - somehow, even if you've saved the dual boot information, that's it!!

3. You cannot delete the 98SE partition and directly go to a single boot XP, because, as already mentioned, this XP is not bootable.

4. However, if 98SE becomes damaged, you CAN reinstall it over the top and it somehow WILL still remember that it boots 2 systems.

So my question is how do you get round all this - short of using a different Dual Boot Manager (PM8 does provide one). For example, in what order are programs run nowadays in order to get the OS to load. In Windows 3.x, it was the autoexec.bat that loaded WIndows, but '95 did away with all that so what calls windows now? Is this program amenable to user amendment, and if so how? Or is there a file we need to save and copy when we make partition changes?