Dual boot system:Newbie needs help plz!!!

Fiery251 09:19 25 Feb 03

Ok, I've partitioned my 40Gb HD into two parts. Two 20Gb portions to be exact.

I am running Windows 98SE, and I want to install Windows XP Pro on the new,empty partition.

How exactly do I go about this?. Is it simply a case of sticking the XP CD in the drive, and pointing it towards my "G:" drive to install onto?.

And if so, is it the case, that after that is done, whenever I switch on my PC, will it automatically ask me what OS I want to run, i.e., what drive do I want to boot from?. Or do I have to boot up as normal, W98SE, and then do what to run XP?.
Sorry if the questions sound like they are coming from a clueless person!!!. I'm new to all this Dual-boot stuff, but I'm determined to get it off the ground!!.

Thanx in advance.

MAJ 09:25 25 Feb 03

You've got it correct, Fiery251. Just insert the XP CD, point it to install on your second 20 gig partition. It will install it's own boot loader so that when you start your PC you will get a choice whether to start Win98 or XP. If you don't choose, it will default to load XP after 30 seconds.

Lú-tzé 09:26 25 Feb 03

Yes, do a custom install and point to the drive you want.

XP provides a boot menu - gives you the choice between the two OS.

Have a look here: click here and susbstitute XP for 2000

tran1 09:29 25 Feb 03

yes, it will ask you which partition to install Xp onto. Just select your second partition.

Fiery251 16:23 25 Feb 03

I kinda suspected that was the case. Thanx for confirming it for me guys. :)

Anything else to watch out for when installing?. Or is it as straightforward as it would appear to be?.

Lú-tzé 17:34 25 Feb 03

It really is straightforward - afterwards there is some fine tuning if there are different things you want to do: say, share favorites, my docs (preferably onto a third partition), share emails and so on.