//some 3rd party need geo

Drive Image 7 query on 2 options NEVER used

CurlyWhirly 12:36 06 Jul 05

I have been using Drive Image 7 for a couple of years now but I have never used the following 2 options:

'Restore original disk signature' and 'Restore MBR'

I *haven't* used them before as I am not sure if they are needed or not?

I have Googled and found this page click here but although it explains what these 2 options do it doesn't really explain whether I should enable them if my current hard drive failed and I was restoring the backup onto a different hard drive?

All of the times I have restored my backup it has been to the *same* hard drive just overwriting the existing data on the same drive.

Does anyone know what these 2 options are really for as according to the link all it says is:

[QUOTE]
This option is recommended for advanced users and is available when restoring a whole drive only.

The above quote isn't really much help to me as it doesn't explain what the 2 options do in relation to backups!
Cheers!

CurlyWhirly 12:58 06 Jul 05

I *think* I am right in thinking that the 2 options ONLY need to be enabled if copying the drive 'image' on to a DIFFERENT hard drive i.e. a new one in the case of the old drive no longer working?

crx1600 13:13 06 Jul 05

have you had a look in DI7's help menu?

CurlyWhirly 00:33 07 Jul 05

Yes I have looked at DI7's help menu as you come to mention it but there is the EXACT info there as what I posted in my link.

I have sent Powerquest (now Symantec) an e-mail requesting further info on these 2 options but, to be honest, I don't expect a reply any time soon assuming I get one at all!
Thanks for replying. ;0)

crx1600 01:05 07 Jul 05

never used DI myself, but following your link, it appears 'Restore original disk signature' only applies to certain OS's, and 9x/XP aren't mentioned.

CurlyWhirly 07:15 07 Jul 05

Thanks. That just leaves the 'Restore MBR' query then!

CurlyWhirly 07:19 07 Jul 05