Drive Image 2002 and SATA hdd's Dog Slow!

Chegs ® 16:34 31 Dec 03

Estimated MB to Restore = 2946.0 Mbs

Total Copied = 15.7 Mbs

Transfer Rate for current partition = 14.7 Mbs

Then it freezes!

Restarting several times will eventually continue past 3% but the figures for hdd data transfer makes for grim reading...

Transfer Rate for current partition = 20 to 60 mbs a minute!

Estimated Time remaining can go over 4 hours!

I have been fighting with XP Home onto SATA hdd's for several months now,as rebooting produces blackscreens(no hdd activity at all for hours)hal.dll/config.sys/ntfs filesystem...missing/corrupt,etc.Repair option often fails with messages about a corrupt/damaged hdd.Recovery Console gets to a black screen with no cursor/keyboard access.

I finally managed to get a stable install of XP,which worked fine for a few weeks(even allowing me to reinstall my various apps for video editing)update hardware drivers,reboot and run stably again.This install I used to create a OS+apps image with DI2002(run from Rescue floppies)Boxing Day,this install suddenly locked up,reset produced a config.sys missing/corrupt message,so I restored from the Drive Image,which crashed after the first reboot with a message about Hal.dll missing/corrupt.I reran the restore again,but at a ridiculously slow rate,not to disimilar to the above figures.Usual restore operations showed transfer rates of over 300 Mbs min,various hdd speed testers show similar high speeds.Pinnacle Studio refuses to run if its unable to save data under a certain speed,since DI has started running so slow,Studio also refuses to work,Defrag/sfc /scan now,etc gets Studio off and running with no noticable slow hdd's using any of the software on my puter.