Dreamweaver MX > CSS and IE / Firefox problem

joelmb 00:16 28 Feb 06

Hi guys. I haven't posted here for ages so apologies if this has been asked; I have a problem. I'm new to CSS postioning and have been struggling to get a grip on it. I know its the correct path for accessibility and want to design pages without the use of tables.

My problem is, just as I'm starting to celebrate how easy it all is to do in Dreamweaver, creating an external stylesheet using DW's embedded CSS style windows, it all looks great in DW, I preview and it looks great in Internt Explorer, however when I preview if Firefox the div> "blocks" ive created in the stylesheets aren't postioned correctly. Theyre like 10 pixels higher in Firefox than in IE.

I don't know if I'm explaining this too well, just hoping I might save some time if anyone knows where I'm going wrong and why there's this positioning difference?

This is an example of the css created to control the left column on my page:

.leftcolumn {
position: absolute;
left: 20px;
top: 152px;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 12px;
color: #0099CC;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
border: 1px solid #CCCCCC;
padding-left: 10px;
width: 245px;
padding-right: 10px;

}

Please help!

DrScott 03:28 28 Feb 06

The main difference I noticed with IE and other brwsers is the use of the <P> tag. I'm an Opera user and it renders paragraphs differently adding extra line above where the text should start.

So if you're writing text in your DIVs, then check and see if the <P> is the culprit.

Otherwise, I'll have to sleep on it :-)

joelmb 12:35 28 Feb 06

Thanks for suggestion, I did indeed have P tags but didn't resolve when I removed them. Also took out <br> tags I'd added but it's still there. I notice where I've defined the width of the div in the positioning of the css it's wider in FF too, and the text spacing is different. Its blimming annoying! Any other ideas?!

slightlymad 13:41 28 Feb 06