Downloading videos and music

esroh 11:19 12 Feb 03

I may sound a little dim but I am quite new to all this!! Could anyone tell me how I download music/videos and what hardware/software I need?? I believe that if I have a normal dial up connection that it will take forever? Also what is an MP3 and how do I know if I my computer can read this? I have media player,turtle beach sound card,DVD R/RW ?? Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

MAJ 11:24 12 Feb 03

Downloading copyrighted music and videos is illegal and on 56K downloading a video takes a long time. MP3 is a compressed file format for audio files (music) and your computer will be able to play them.

Terrahawk 11:33 12 Feb 03

go to the shops and buy your dvd's it will be legal and probably work out cheaper than downloading on 56k modem

Ben Avery (Work) 11:56 12 Feb 03

Mp3's will play in Windows Media Player but will take ages to download on a 56k modem. Certain artist's will give you the option to download their music but these are few and far between (mostly punk bands and the like). Any that don't allow it from their official websites are likely to be illegal and so it would be an infringement on the artist's royalties for yu to do so. As a musician myself, I can only say that to download illegal music is very unfair as the artist works hard for the royalties they rightly deserve.

Would you like it if you went and did a job for someone but didn't get paid?

That's what downloading illegal music does to artists, the record company takes most of the original cash due to the large amount of money owed them by the artist, they start to make their money on royalties from SALES not dowloads.

Be fair...Buy

Had my say now...

BA

Ricewind 12:43 12 Feb 03

I don't think esroh came here for an earbashing on theft people! He didn't say he wasn't going to pay for the privilage, so why assume?