Downloaded "setup_build206_157" Help

geoff47 14:22 16 Aug 09

While searching on Google for news of Obama's mother in laws hip replacement, I managed to download the following "setup_build206_157"
On clicking a Google link a window like "My Documents" opened and what appeared to be a scan,logging the many trojans and other bugs my PC has installed.It is at present on my desktop unopened.
If I delete it, do I need to do anything else ?

crosstrainer 14:38 16 Aug 09

It's a trojan, download, update and install / run these:

click here

click here

Should get rid (you may need to run these in safe mode) Post back if unsure.

geoff47 14:44 16 Aug 09

It says it is an application, is it dangerous even if I dont run it ?

geoff47 14:44 16 Aug 09

It says it is an application, is it dangerous even if I dont run it ?

crosstrainer 14:49 16 Aug 09

No, they are both safe...Just aknowldge uac and continue:))

I've been knocking around here for quite a few years now, and would never post a bad link!

But your caution is well advised :))

geoff47 14:51 16 Aug 09

Sorry you got the wrong end of the stick, I was not asking about your advised solution.
Just asking whether the "setup_build206_157" could merely be deleted as I have not installed it, deleted before I install it.

crosstrainer 16:08 16 Aug 09

No. In a nutshell the malware has been installed. Run the apps. I posted and report back.

geoff47 17:42 16 Aug 09

Have downloaded, updated and ran the suggested programs.
Found remains of my daughters music downloads with Trojan Downloaders attached.
It is all sorted out now.

Many thanks.

crosstrainer 19:28 16 Aug 09

Thanks for the feedback :))

gkuch 19:24 17 Aug 09