Domains and hosting

Damarc 11:20 26 Jul 08

Could someone please explain to me the variations that you need to upload a website. I have a Virginmedia broadband account and this allows me to have a website. I have used this facility to prepare a website for the local riding club but I'm not very good at it and another person is willing to take over. She says she needs a domain name under the riding club's name and asked me who will host it??? Do domains and hosting go together? Who would be a provider? Would the domain, host and provider all be the same for ease or is this impossible. I assume she can't use my account as it is secured by password which I wouldn't want to give out. Could someone spell it out simply to me please. Thank you so much.

Ditch999 11:50 26 Jul 08

There are a number of ways to host a website.
As you say, you get a small amount of webspace with your ISP and this can be used but you will need to access it with your broadband password and user account details which you say you do not want to give out (sensible)

Another option is to pay a web hosting company, like 1and1.co.uk, fasthosts.co.uk, webfusion.co.uk etc to host the site for you. They charge for this but if you shop around you can get special offers.

If you know someone PC savvy they can set up your own webserver to host the website but you need a PC that can be left running 24/7, 365 and someone who knows how to maintain and secure it.

You will also need to buy a Domain Name and it should be agreed with the Club what that should be, something like yourtownridingclub .co .uk and this will cost as well but the same applies, shop around. You can get them for £5 for 2 years then you have to renew it. This will also give you personal email addresses as well like yourname @ yourridingclub .co .uk

Ditch999 11:52 26 Jul 08

And yes, you can get one company to do it all. Have a look at a couple of the examples I gave or there is another one, 123-reg.co.uk you could look at.