Does anyone know what CLOCK PLAN.exe is?

Shirl-The-Girl 19:50 19 Dec 04

I'm not very good at techno speak I'm afraid so be gentle with me! I have had problems this week with my pc following the download of the new AVG version 7 and have also had dwwin.exe error messages. My system has been giving me messages about virtual memory running low and then programs start to shut down one by one. I have kept my task manager open and have discovered a program called CLOCK PLAN.exe created on 12 December which keeps replicating itself using approx 4900K of memory each time it appears on the list so I assume this is the reason that I am getting the virtual memory messages but does anyone know where it could have come from or how to remove it?

Diodorus Siculus 19:54 19 Dec 04

Sounds like Spyware - download, update and run some or all of the following:

click here
AdAware click here
SB click here
cws click here

Shirl-The-Girl 21:08 19 Dec 04

Yes it could be. I've tried denying it in zonealarm, i've tried uninstalling AVG, I've unchecked the box in start-up, I've run my bt-yahoo anti-spy program, but all to no avail. I'll try the ad-aware program and see what happens. I also tried system restore but it was unsuccessful!

Shirl-The-Girl 15:49 22 Dec 04

After I posted the last message, I managed to get system restore to put my system back to a few days before the problem started and all seemed ok for a day or two but now I am getting an error message every time I try to run any program. "The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000142). Click on OK to terminate the application." Does anyone have any ideas what this means and what I can do to correct it? I can't even do system restore this time as I get the same error message!

Diodorus Siculus 16:35 22 Dec 04

Do you have the winXP CD? If so, you may be able to run the system file checker:

start

run

sfc /scannow

(be sure to leave a space after sfc and before /scannow)

Shirl-The-Girl 16:42 22 Dec 04