doctors orders - excel

blackjohn 11:49 21 Sep 04

my doctor has asked me to provide a graph of my blood pressure readings over 'say a two or three week period

I am a complete novice with regards to excel and haven't a clue how to do it.

I would need the X axis to cover from 50 to 180 & to randomnly enter on the y axis the date and time the readings would be taken (i.e. on average i take the readings 3 times a day but it does vary and sometimes i miss a day or two

I would like to display the diastolic pressure in red & the systolic in green and also a dotted line in the same colours to show the average.

is this to 'tall an order' or is it possible

VoG II 12:22 21 Sep 04

To follow convention you should plot date/time on the X (horizontal) and Pressure on the Y axis (vertical).

In Column A enter the date and time of each reading in the format

21/09/2004 10:15:00

Excel should recognise this as a date/time automatically.

Enter the corresponding readings in Columns B and C.

When you have entered all of the data, select it all and click the Chart Wizard toolbar button. This will guide you through creating the graph.

VoG II 12:25 21 Sep 04

Once you have constructed the basic graph we can talk you through the colours, showing the averages, changing the scaling and so on. But I suggest that we proceed one step at a time.

Baledor 12:50 21 Sep 04

when I read your post, which you are welcome to.

end 13:22 21 Sep 04

(am "medically- minded "so..

can I suggest you increase the "range" to read from 40 to 200; if you are going to be taking your blood pressure frequently and often ( how often and who is taking it?), something is "not right" and the readings could well vary beyond your requested paremeters; hopefully your original request will be sufficient, but a wider margin cannot harm the graph ( though may not be too good for your physical health!!)

sorry to butt in,,, carry on "doctoring " excell-wizards::))

VoG II 13:40 21 Sep 04