Do I really need firewire - or will USB do ???

JChristopher1 21:47 18 Jun 03

I'm a novice thinking of buying a relatively cheap digital camcorder and am a little confused by the technology. What I want to be able to do is :
? Film my baby
? Transfer the video to my PC, and maybe do some very basic editing etc
? Transfer the edited footage to CD-R or keep it on my hard-drive - I'm not particularly bothered about being able to transfer edited footage back to the camcorder (so I'm guessing I don't really need firewire-in but only out ?)

My PC doesn't have a firewire card installed - but I do have a free USB (1.1 rather than 2.0) port. OK, I know from what I've read that this wouldn't necessarily be a problem as I could install a firewire card - but do I really need one to be able to dump video to my hard drive if I can do it via USB ?

My question is - can I dump video to my hard drive via USB with the same quality as a transfer via firewire would give me ? I've read conflicting opinions about this. I'm tempted to go for a camcorder (thinking of the Sony DCR-TRV245E) with USB-out and firewire-out, and see how I get on as I can always get a firewire card later on. Is this a good idea - or am I completely more ignorant than I think ?

Cheers.

JChristopher1 21:59 18 Jun 03

Sorry - forgot to mention - I have a video card with S-video input. If this likely to be of any use, or will I lose so much quality I may as well forget it ?

jazzypop 22:11 18 Jun 03

USB 1 vs firewire? Definitely Firewire, on grounds of speed (data transfer) alone.

See click here for one article - type 'video transfer usb vs firewire' into Google for a whole lot more information.

Dabs do an internal firewire card (2 port) for about £11, and a 3-port version with a copy of Pinnacle SE for £18, from memory.

Totally-braindead 22:24 18 Jun 03