'do i need a new psu?2'

JoanSims 14:23 02 Sep 07

'do i need a new psu?'

Hi,, Sorry just noticed original thread was now resolved sooooooo.. All you chaps sounded very knowledgable about power supply units vis a vis purchasing a new graphics card... Can anyone help me to tell what the power of my unit is please?.. Is it written on it somewhere or is it displayed somewhere on "My Computer"??... Also I read on the internet that some graphics cards need to have secondary power (molex?) connections (two in some cases)and that I am likely to have a couple of these spare somewhere inside the cabinet... Any advice would be much appreciated please... Also a recommendation of a goodish graphics card would be great too.. I've been thinking about a (AGP) Radeon x1950pro.... Total and complete absolute beginner

woodchip 16:22 02 Sep 07

You have to take at lest the left panel off the tower, psu is at the top back. box with all the wires coming from it. it will say on that box some where. may be on the top. if it is you have to remove four screws from arround the fan at the back to let it come lose. you can then see on top forWatts. You need in todays world something in the order of 550 to 650 watts for graphisc and gaming computers

JoanSims 21:24 02 Sep 07

Thanks for that... had a look at the power supply as you suggested and it is an 'Eagle 400w' unit.. Would I be able to get away with one of that wattage do you think??

skidzy 21:58 02 Sep 07

Preferably go for a branded model of at least 500watt Joan.

I have fitted several of these now and find them extremely reliable in a basic use pc click here though if you are going to fit top end graphics cards etc,go for something branded.click here

Totally-braindead 15:54 03 Sep 07

Never heard of Eagle so its probably a cheap brand I think its borderline considering that you are proposing getting a x1950pro which is one of the best AGP graphics cards you can get. I personally would want at least a 500watt branded one as well.