do I need a card reader?

MUPPET1 14:33 09 Feb 05

I have a DSC p72 digital camera and am thinking of buying the matrix 3000 from mesh computers. Do I need to get the integral usb2 8-in-1 card reader? Sorry if this seems like a daft question, but I am very new to this. Thanks for all help

FelixTCat 14:43 09 Feb 05

No, you do't need it, because you can transfer pictures from the camera using the cable and software provided with the camera. However, a card reader is a much better and quicker option. Make sure that one of the 8 options in the card reader is suitable for the cards your camera uses.

You can buy free-standing card readers; it may be worth checking some third-party prices against what Mesh will charge you.

Bagsey 14:49 09 Feb 05

I would say get it now while you are busy buying. It will save getting a usb reader later and all of the extra clutter on your desk as it will be built into one of the drive bays.

MUPPET1 14:50 09 Feb 05

thanks for that

smurfling 14:51 09 Feb 05

Be carefull, the card reader specified by Mesh is an external one. There are some external ones cheaper and just as good. They will give you a built in one for the same price but you will have to specify that when you order.

MUPPET1 15:00 09 Feb 05

how/ why is it quicker and easier and which is better internal/external (apart for space issue? thanks

pj123 15:02 09 Feb 05

Contrary to what FelixTCat has said I think you do need a card reader.

It is so much easier than plugging your camera in, making sure you have enough battery power etc. running the camera software, downloading the photo's.

With a card reader (permanently connected) all you do is take the card out of the camera into the card reader and download. Simple.

MUPPET1 15:09 09 Feb 05

aaah right now I understand? thanks for that pj123 (and the rest of you). that is a big help

Stuartli 16:55 09 Feb 05

You can buy a 7, 8, 9 or even 12-to-1 card reader for around £10.