dll problems

rawprawn 12:49 10 Feb 05

My computer seems to lose dll's for no reason at all. I posted yesterday and thought that the problem was solved. If I run sfc it asks for the XP CD and says that dll files nedd to be copied for windows to run properly. If I complete the scan and leave it for a while and reboot then scan again I get the smae message. I have fitted a new HDD recently but apart from that I cannot think of a reason.Does sfc replace all lost files/dll's at one scan Any ideas

JIM 13:04 10 Feb 05

I think if all of us decided to put our winxp os disk into our drives and run sfc /scannow we would have the same result as your missing .dll or cache,files etc.

With Sp2 installed i have found or come to the conclusion that windows will not just let any systems files or dll's or such like be delete. More so than before the update of sp2.

Rightly or not in my view,i find what you report to be smilar as to my-self.

octal 13:07 10 Feb 05

I'm not an XP expert, so tell me I'm an idiot and go away, I won't be offended.

Just a thought, would have to switch system restore off first before running SFC then turning it back on when you've fininshed.

JIM 13:23 10 Feb 05

First your not an idiot.

Something i have not attempted as you discribe to try to do.Outcome may be interesting so i may try it.

I would have thought,included with the system restore operation would be all required systems files ect.so s SFC was almost redundant,(almost).

With all the added software protection these day's and what is being loaded,plus cleanning up programs i am finding it almost impossible to pinpoint all Windows XP'S ways. Not at all like previous OS's,where windows would go "awall" for the slightest of reasons.

rawprawn 13:23 10 Feb 05