Dissertation subject!!! Any suggestions...........

machow 19:32 24 Oct 03

Im in third year of Bsc Business information systems, and im really struggling to come up with a subject for my dissertation.

My main interests are within data modelling/database design and systems analysis, so i would ideally like to have something within these realms.

Any suggestions or resources sites that may help, would be really appreciated!!!

Thanks

Taran 20:30 24 Oct 03

The continued rise of GPL software and how it rivals alternative standards.

In particular, PHP/MySQL v ASP/Access/SQL Server

How the cost (to develop and implement), functionality, efficiency and ease of learning/deployment compares.

Native support for volumes of data, security issues, reliance on programming as opposed to scripting skills, required hardware and software to effectively serve the systems and how they may be managed and updated (this is a very serious point).

This was something I was putting into consideration a few days ago. I visited a very large manufacturing plant with vast output (not to mention operating costs and profits) who were operating their database on an ADABAS system running on a mainframe.

I started bouncing around how it could be brought up to speed for modern day use (in hardware and software terms), did a very rough systems analysis, jotted down some DFD's, bounced around how the various available technologies could answer the requirements on this scale and decided I really had to get out more...

Food for thought ?

regards

Taran

machow 20:40 24 Oct 03

Yes it certainly is!!

Thanks

shazza65 21:33 24 Oct 03

I felt I'd eaten a three-course meal reading all that, I only wish I understood it, maybe then I wouldn't have so many problems with my computer or at least understand what instructions people were giving me!

Good luck with your dissertation.

Sir Radfordin 21:42 24 Oct 03