Display showing horizontal lines/pc shutting down

puma377 01:19 31 Dec 09

Hi my HP 1050 media centre has suddenly started showing weird horizontal lines on boot up an error message saying windows didnt shut down properly.... then i have options to start normally etc. Other times it will boot up "normally" but the font is huge and then the horizontal lines start to appear then the computer shuts down and restarts, sometimes normally (large font) or the horizontal lines appear and i cant see the screen properly. I tried to change the screen resolution but this results in it shutting down. have reinstalled ATI driver and cleaned inside pc with air duster and tried another monitor with the same problems, I'm no techie, is there a simple solution or is graphics card failing? i havent installed any new software, but downloaded games kept crashing, and desktop icons not so sharp. Please help. Thanks

The Potter 01:45 31 Dec 09

I'm just answering because it's late and no one else is - please wait for someone more knowledable.

In the mean time - take the graphics card out (on the assumtion you have one); how does the PC start then?

Maybe useful to mention which OS you are using, which graphics care and which games fail? Along with speed and memory hey?

TP

The Potter 01:47 31 Dec 09

NB: I'm no techie either! Put the graphics card back in if removing it freeks you out!

L_Driver 17:30 31 Dec 09

This ocurred on my desktop system 6 months or so ago. Graphics card in my case needed replaced. Got a similar card to that I prev installed 6-7 years back. Prob sorted. New card was about £35 or so from Amazon.You can identify your graphics card from within Device Manager. PS I cannot state for certain this is the issue with your system !

puma377 23:17 31 Dec 09

sorry, this would have helped:
Memory 2 g ram
windows xp SP3
graphics ati 600 series
dont know the speed, the comp is about 5-6 years old
Sims 3 and some online games have crashed