Disappearing text

The one and only Mr A 23:22 24 Jun 05

I'm a relative novice at web design but have recently put together for a friend who runs asnooker club with Dreamweaver. It all looks quite nice on my computer but when you view it on the net the text below a certain level dissappears after the page finish loading. Can anyone give me pointers on how to sort this out? I've done the site more or less from scratch again only to encounter the same problem :(

The page is at click here

Thanks in advance!

Forum Editor 23:41 24 Jun 05

I think you're using a template aren't you? If so you may need to adapt it for your use - I suggest that you insert some tables, and layout your text that way.

In addition, I would tweak the font size up a point. Your Contact page font differs from the other pages - you might want to rectify that.

Eric10 12:33 25 Jun 05

I can tell you what is causing the problem but not why. The problem is with the navigation links. On the Home page the lower text is visible until you run the cursor over the other links and returns when you hover over the Home button again. On the "Competions" and "Roll of Honour" pages the lower text again becomes visible when hovering over the Home button.

This led me to the style sheet and I have found that if the backgroung-color is disabled in the "#sectionLinks a:hover" section then the problem disappears. Unfortunately this means that the background colour of the link doesn't change when hovered over but that is surely a lesser problem than the one you have got at the moment. If you change the appropriate part of your style sheet to that listed below it will correct your immediate problem and just change the text colour of the link to a darker blue so as to give a different effect when hovered over.

#sectionLinks a:hover {

border-top: 1px solid #cccccc;

/* background-color: #dddddd; */

padding: 2px 0px 2px 10px;