Digi Camera. Save Before Download?

Legslip 08:36 03 Jun 10

My pal has a Canon Digi Camera and aster he takes a pic he can look at the image on his camera screen and zoom into the image. Is it possible to save a copy of the zoomed image as well as the original one?

Technotiger 08:41 03 Jun 10

Yes, that should be possible using a Photo Editor program. I have done it using MGI Photosuite 4, there are plenty of other such programs.

One must save changes to any photograph using the "Save as" option, that way the original photo remains untouched. Best though to make a copy of the original, and then practice with the copy.

Technotiger 08:43 03 Jun 10

PS - just read your Title again - photo must be saved to PC first, use a Card Reader to get pics into PC.

Legslip 08:47 03 Jun 10

Thank TTiger. It's just that while he is on holiday, in a spare moment he wanted to do some editing on the camera.

hssutton 12:34 03 Jun 10

My cameras do not have inbuilt editing features, so I'm no expert, but what would be the point of editing in camera if the camera does not save the edit.

A quick google brought up the following for an Olympus. click here

Muergo 14:06 03 Jun 10

Editing in my Canon 110 enables me to plug it straight in to my printer without using PC.

That way you can take printer with you on trips and print out as you go.
My desktop is too bulky to use in the car!

So editing and controlling printer from camera is like the old Polaroid Land but even better.

Buy a 12/240 inverter from Maplin to give you mains in the car, they have several different outputs for around £40 but watch the usage of your car battery.
You need 20 times more amps to get 240v from 12v, but you knew that anyway from O level physics. and there's the converter losses, I don't know how efficient they are but they give off heat so juice is going somewhere else.

BT 16:42 03 Jun 10